Prayer, thanks, and joy and other crumbs off of the table of the grace of Jesus-

So. I just wanted to express my thanks to all the supporters of this film. I know it has nothing to do with me. It has to do with Jesus and Rich Mullins. Jesus has touched your life through Rich Mullins in some way shape or from. And because of this you have been sending us kind emails and encouragement. You’ve offered up a location, or need of the film, donated or just sent up a prayer or two:-).

Man, we just wanted to say thanks. Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts. We are just a little rag tag group of people trying to make a movie about a guy who had an impact on our lives. And beyond Rich Mullins- It’s Jesus. Jesus has moved in our hearts and brought us to experience His love and His grace through this Ragamuffin’s life, music, poetry, graced experienced in his brokenness, and pursuit of Jesus.

We’d also like to thank all the countless people that have helped us get to this point, the many people that have had conversations with us, to help us understand Rich Mullins more, better, deeper. Not even that we have the full picture. I mean, who does have the full picture of any of our stories, except Jesus. There’s a mystery to our own life, faith, and every day experience that I think only God himself get’s anyway.

We’d especially like to thank Rich Mullins family for blessing us with this honor to let us make this film. I am sure they probably didn’t even realize how much of a ragamuffin I was, but they still didn’t back down from having grace with me through this process.

And even special note to Dave Mullins. One of the most honorable men of God that I have ever met. He has a wisdom, honesty, and love for Jesus and the kingdom unlike I’ve ever met. He’s the real deal.

So, LORD WILLING, we will be shooting starting July 8th. Lord willing, because Jesus is in charge and I’m not. And making an indie movie i’ve learned the hard way that anything can happen. So I really mean Lord willing, not just as in a Christian cliche kinda way…like more in a God help us kinda way…but you know no matter what God is good…movie or no movie. Jesus certainly doesn’t need this movie. He’s a way better storyteller anyway…he’s writing our stories as we speak.

Please pray for us, and not in that half hearted thing you kinda say sometimes (or is that just me)…no I mean. Pray for film. It’s such a big job. Such a big responsability. Such a wonderful story. And it’s so important to me, and to a few others, and maybe more than a few. Pray for protection, legally, financially, safety, and most of all our hearts. Protect our hearts from weariness, fatigue, and most of all from ourselves. I deeply pray for God’s will to be done. No matter how the movie turns out.

Um. Man, I guess I just don’t have much more to say. Maybe I should just wrap it up. I don’t want to demean what were doing or pat ourselves on the back- I want to stick right in the middle, probably like any of ourselves that call ourselves Christians are trying to do, because after all it’s not about what work you are doing…whether it’s a movie, or a donut shop, it’s about loving God and loving people. May God draw our hearts and others into his deep love, because after all a movie really doesn’t matter that much. It’s just a thing. At most a tool. But what matters the most his Jesus and loving him and people.

As Rich would would say :

Be God’s,

David Schultz

-a fellow ragamuffin

~ by David Leo Schultz on June 10, 2012.

One Response to “Prayer, thanks, and joy and other crumbs off of the table of the grace of Jesus-”

  1. Be Gods!!

Leave a Reply

 
